top_graphic bottom_graphic
arrow Competitions & Awards
2022 Healthcare Design Awards
22 days left
2022 Healthcare Design Awards
Honoring excellence and originality in healthcare interior design that is exemplary of extraordinary innovations in design concepts across 14 categories.
Important Dates
The Healthcare Design Award takes place annually.
Submission Open
Jul 13, 2022
Submission Closed
Sep 07, 2022

All fees must be submitted electronically. Apply for IIDA membership to take advantage of our member pricing!

IIDA Member Price
Non-IIDA Member Price
Competition Guidelines
Submission Requirements

All submissions will be done electronically, no hard copy submissions will be accepted. To enter a project into this competition, you will need to prepare and submit the following:

Written Component

Your firm's contact information including name, address, phone number, and email

Your design project's information including name and location
Project description: a brief project summary (50-word maximum)
Challenge statement: a description of your design challenge (250-word maximum)
Solution statement: a description of specific solutions to project challenges (250-word maximum)


Please submit color images of your completed project, in JPG or JPEG format with a maximum file size of 1MB. You may submit captions to your images, not to exceed 50 words. Take note of the following additional guidelines:

Submit 7-10 color images total - of these images only one (1) exterior image is permitted, and a maximum of three (3) floorplans

No composite images allowed - only one photograph per image upload
Use numbers to name your image files, in order of uploads (01, 02, 03, etc). Please use the following format for floor plans: "floorplan1, floorplan2, floorplan3"
Do not reference or include your design/architectural firm name/logo in the images.
Images may be edited to improve contrast ratio, color balance, and composition through cropping only.
Images may not be edited to add, remove, or alter any aspect or element of the project including its context. Images should represent the project as it exists in the built environment.
Conceptual renderings will not be accepted


Projects must be submitted in one of the categories below. All projects are eligible for the Transformation and Innovation Award, which recognizes a project that is leading the industry and advancing healthcare outcomes. Categories may be renamed, consolidated, or eliminated (and projects reclassified) at the discretion of IIDA and/or the jurors.

Ambulatory (specialty clinic, pediatric, cancer center, ambulatory surgery center, or urgent care center)

Hospitals (community, academic/teaching hospitals, pediatric, women's, psychiatric)
Extended Care & Assisted Living Facilities (skilled nursing facility, mental health, long-term care, hospice/palliative care)


The winning design projects are chosen by a jury of design professionals. Submissions are judged on excellence in aesthetics, design, creativity, and function as well as the suitability of the design solution to the project challenge and the successful integration of the elements of design. The jury reserves the right to not select a winner from the entries submitted.


Category winners and the Transformation and Innovation Award recipients are announced in September. The Best of Competition Award winners will be announced at the Healthcare Design Awards Reception on November 17, 2022, at IIDA Headquarters in Chicago. Winners will be featured in the Healthcare Design magazine and on IIDA.org. Winners will also receive official digital assets, including competition winner logos for self-promotion, coverage and mention on IIDA’s social media accounts, and in an official press release distributed to leading industry outlets and media partners.

For questions or more information, contact Veronica Whitaker at vwhitaker@iida.org.