top_graphic bottom_graphic
IIDA Names Transformational and Innovation Award Winners And Best of Competition Winner of the 10th Annual IIDA Healthcare Design Awards
arrow Press Room

CHICAGO—IIDA is pleased to announce the Transformational and Innovation Award winners and the Best of Competition winner for the 2022 IIDA Healthcare Design Awards. The Transformational and Innovation Award winners are Gensler for the Bill Richards Center For Healing (Rockville, MA) and NBBJ for the Seattle Children’s Odessa Brown Children’s Clinic (Seattle). This year’s Best of Competition winner is HGA for the firm’s Crystal Clinic Orthopaedic Center (Akron, OH).

The IIDA Healthcare Design Awards recognize firms for creative design of healthcare facilities across seven categories within Hospitals, Extended Care and Assisted Living Facilities, and Ambulatory. In addition to the above awards, Gensler, HGA, and NBBJ were named category winners for their respective projects including Ambulatory, Specialty Clinic; Hospitals, Community; and Ambulatory, Pediatric.

“HGA’s Crystal Clinic Orthopaedic Center project exemplifies the successful intersection of functionality and form as the Best of Competition winner,” said IIDA Executive Vice President and CEO, Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA. “Additionally, the visionary designers at Gensler and NBBJ were both deserving of the Transformational and Innovation Award with their impressive ability to integrate advanced technology with patient-centric healing environments.”

Projects were reviewed by a panel of healthcare design professionals, including former President of IIDA’s New York chapter, Elsie St. Léger, IIDA; HDR Senior Interior Designer Professional Associate, Kelley Dorsett, IIDA, CHID; and AECOM Senior Vice President and Interior Design Director, Americas, Brett A. Shwery, FIIDA, AAIA, CID.

“While this year’s submissions were highly impressive, the Crystal Clinic Orthopaedic Center stood out as an exceptional example of thoughtful, patient-forward space planning,” Dorsett said on behalf of the jury. “The three specialty award winners this year brought a rejuvenated perspective to healthcare design, and we’re honored to recognize all of them.”

All winners were announced at an IIDA reception at IIDA Headquarters in Chicago on November 17. All winning projects can be viewed on the IIDA website. For more information, please contact Veronica Whitaker, design competitions manager, at vwhitaker@iida.org.

Press Contact:
Abigail Yonker
Jo Communications