Nov 17, 2022 By Marci Merola
CIDQ: Inspiration for the Future
IIDA’s Director of Advocacy Marci Merola share an overview of the 2022 CIDQ Annual Meeting
By Marci Merola Nov 17, 2022
Published in Advocacy

Legislation and the future of interior design were topics at the forefront of the 2022 CIDQ Annual Meeting, held November 13-14, in Los Angeles.

There, CIDQ staff and its board of directors brought together key representatives from state and provincial regulatory boards, interior design education organizations, and professional organizations including IIDA, for two days of presentations and discussions on the state of both CIDQ and the industry.

Keynote speaker, Chip DeGrace, Director of Design Purpose at Interface kicked off the conference. In ”Carbon Matters: How Interior Design Can Help Save the World.” DeGrace shared his outlook on interior design’s role in regards to the drawdown of atmospheric carbon, as well as the impact of climate change on health. Ian Rolston, Past-President of the Interior Designers of Canada (IDC) and Lead Decanthropist at Decanthropy, tackled diversity and paths for the profession to shift its professional practice towards inclusivity.

Cheryl Durst, Hon. FIIDA EVP and CEO of IIDA; and Khoi Vo, CEO of ASID, at the CIDQ Conference in Los Angles. Photo by Marci Merola
Cheryl Durst, Hon. FIIDA EVP and CEO of IIDA; and Khoi Vo, CEO of ASID, at the CIDQ Conference in Los Angles. Photo by Marci Merola

Michael Armstrong, CEO of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) and David Cox, CEO of the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying, (NCEES) discussed strength in numbers in terms of regulation, as well as the newly formed Alliance for Responsible Public Licensing (ARPL), and the Interprofessional Council on Registration (ICOR).

Matthew Barusch
, Government Affairs and Advocacy Manager, CIDQ, Lauren Earley, Manager of Government and Public Affairs, and IIDA’s Director of Advocacy, Marci Merola, gave an update on on recent legislative strides.

Last but not least, CIDQ recognized Dr. Abimbola Asojo as the 2022 Louis S. Tregre Award winner. Dr. Asojo is Professor of Interior Design and Associate Dean for Research, Creative Scholarship, and Engagement at the College of Design at University of Minnesota. Her work has extended globally, bringing awareness of interior design to audiences that previously would not have been educated on the profession.

The CIDQ Board of Directors conducted its business meeting on Sunday and Monday, November 13 and 14, after the close of the 2022 CIDQ Annual Meeting.

Featured Articles
View All Articles
View All Articles