top_graphic bottom_graphic
arrow Competitions Overview
ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards

ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards honors excellence in library interior design and promoting examples of extraordinary design reflected through innovative concepts across nine categories. The ALA (American Library Association)/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards celebrates those who make reading—and learning—fun. This is a biennial competition established in 2006, and taking place in even years.

Who Should Submit?
This award is open to any interior designer, interior architect, or architect with library interior design projects in the design phase or completed in the last two (2) calendar years.

Why Should I Apply?
Enter for the chance to have your work evaluated by world-renowned interior designers and architects like Fiona Grandowski, IIDA, AIA; Jeannette Lenear Peruchini; and Stasia Suleiman, IIDA. Projects are judged on excellence in aesthetics, design, creativity, and function as well as the suitability of the design solution to the project challenge and the successful integration of the elements of design.

Winners and their clients will be honored at the annual ALA Annual Conference with a special winner’s celebration. Winning projects will be published in the American Libraries magazine, on IIDA.org, and in an official press release distributed to leading industry outlets and media partners.


This award is open biennially in even years, January through April. Submissions are now open!

For questions or more information, contact IIDA Design Competitions Manager Veronica Whitaker at competitions@iida.org.

2022 Best of Competition

Sign up for Designed for Excellence, the bi-weekly newsletter dedicated to IIDA competitions and awards updates, plus news on events, celebrations, and award-winning design projects.

For questions and more information regarding IIDA Design Awards and Competitions, please contact competitions@iida.org.