top_graphic bottom_graphic

The Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Visionary Award and Education Fund celebrate the professional achievements of Anna Hernandez, founder of Luna Textiles, through establishing and presenting an annual prize for women entrepreneurs and industry leaders in the commercial interior design field. Recipients will receive $5,000 to use towards growing their business and will be presented with their award at the IIDA Annual Meeting.

Anna Hernandez was a leader in the textile industry, a creative force, entrepreneur, and champion for the interior design industry, establishing herself and Luna Textiles as award-winning industry leaders. The fund was established in 2016 by Anna's family, Luna Textiles, and in partnership with IIDA as a legacy of Anna Hernandez, and the award serves to honor her spirit and achievements by recognizing women entrepreneurs in commercial interior design.

Read more about Anna Hernandez here.


Woman entrepreneurs with a business or firm specializing in interior design or product design are encouraged to apply for the Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Education Award. The firm must have been in existence for a minimum of three (3) years and no more than ten (10) years.


The Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Visionary Award opens November 1, 2021.

2021 Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Visionary Award Recipient

Samantha Josaphat, NOMA
Founder and Principal, STUDIO 397 Architecture

Samantha Josaphat

Samantha Josaphat is a forward-thinking and visionary designer. She helps to pave the way for a more inclusive architecture and interior design community. Her firm illustrates her resilience, strong leadership, and passion for the arts all while carving the way for underrepresented professionals in our industry.

2020 Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Visionary Award Recipient

Kia Weatherspoon
Determined by Design, Washington D.C.

Kia Weatherspoon has made significant contributions to the design profession by advocating for design equity in low-income communities. Through her Washington D.C-based firm Determined by Design, Weatherspoon champions interior design as a standard for all, rather than a privilege for some, and has challenged developers, architectural partners, and general contractors to do better by those deemed less deserving of an elevated space.

Read more here.

arrowAnna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Visionary Fund + Award arrowDesigning for the Future Annual Campaign arrowIA Interior Architects Diversity in Design Fund + Scholarship arrowIIDA Impact Stipend arrowIIDA Educator Diversity Award arrowIIDA Chapter Programs + Awards arrowJohn J. Nelson Sr. Legacy Scholarship Fund and Scholarship arrowLester Dundes Memorial Fund arrowNCIDQ Tuition Reimbursement Fund arrowSustainable Design Education Fund arrowWilsonart Essay Competition