The Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Award celebrates the professional achievements of Anna Hernandez, founder of Luna Textiles, through establishing and presenting an annual prize for women entrepreneurs and industry leaders in the commercial interior design field. One $5,000 prize will be presented annually for the recipient(s) to use towards growing their business and will be presented with their award at the IIDA Annual Meeting.

Anna Hernandez was a leader in the textile industry, a creative force, entrepreneur, and champion for the interior design industry, establishing herself and Luna Textiles as award-winning industry leaders. The fund was established in 2016 by Anna's family, Luna Textiles, and in partnership with IIDA to recognize the legacy of Anna Hernandez, and the award serves to honor her spirit and achievements by recognizing women entrepreneurs in commercial interior design.

Read more about Anna Hernandez here.


Woman entrepreneurs with a business or firm specializing in interior design or product design are encouraged to apply for the Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Award. The firm must have been in existence for a minimum of three (3) years and no more than ten (10) years.


2024 applications are closed.

For questions or more information, contact the IIDA Foundation at foundation@iida.org.

2023 Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Award Recipient

Maya Bird-Murphy
Founder and Executive Director, Mobile Makers

Maya-Bird Murphy started Mobile Makers to address the lack of diversity in the design field. Mobile Makers is a non-profit organization advocating for education and diversity in the design industry by conducting valuable workshops in Chicago and Boston. Read more

2022 Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Award Recipient

Christie Porter
CEO and Design Principal, ONE NINE Architecture

Christie Porter

After 16 years in the industry, Porter founded ONE NINE Architecture in 2018 with a mission to enact courageous, bold change in the architecture and design fields. Based in Irvine, CA., ONE NINE Architecture services commercial tenant improvement, retail, multifamily, non-profits, education, and medical projects as well as residential new build, additions, and remodels. Read more

2021 Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Award Recipient

Samantha Josaphat, NOMA
Founder and Principal, STUDIO 397 Architecture

Samantha Josaphat

Samantha Josaphat is a forward-thinking and visionary designer. She helps to pave the way for a more inclusive architecture and interior design community. Her firm illustrates her resilience, strong leadership, and passion for the arts all while carving the way for underrepresented professionals in our industry. Read more

2020 Anna Hernandez/Luna Textiles Award Recipient

Kia Weatherspoon
Determined by Design, Washington D.C.

Kia Weatherspoon has made significant contributions to the design profession by advocating for design equity in low-income communities. Through her Washington D.C-based firm Determined by Design, Weatherspoon champions interior design as a standard for all, rather than a privilege for some, and has challenged developers, architectural partners, and general contractors to do better by those deemed less deserving of an elevated space. Read more.